For JR Pass : Which is JR Line in Kyoto ?


1. All Railway Line Map in Kyoto

Although there are 7 different railway companies in Kyoto, such as Kintetsu, Hankyu, Keihan, Eizan, Keifuku (Randen) and City Subway in addition to JR line, you can ride only JR line with JAPAN RAIL PASS.

Basically every time you change to different railway line, you need to buy a new ticket for each line.

So if you have any IC cards or some unlimited type passes, it is very convenient to move around Kyoto by trains.

The map below shows all train routes in Kyoto, and check which route the JR line is.

2. JR Line Map in Kyoto

Kyoto station is the main gateway station where the Shinkansen (bullet train) also stops.

From Kyoto station, the routes of the JR line spread out the north, south, east and west, named Sagano line, Nara line, Biwako line and Kyoto line.

For example, Sagano line take you to Arashiyama area, and to Nijo castle if you don’t mind walking.
Nara line take you to Fushimi-Inari shrine.

Let’s check the map below showing the routes of the JR lines in Kyoto.

If you want to know more information of JR line in Kyoto, please check this page, too.